News

See latest news

Watch the US national Centennial Commemoration live

Posted  4 April 2017 in News  
By Pamela Linden
worldwar.org live stream

The National World War I Museum and Memorial will host America’s national ceremony commemorating the centennial of the United States’ entry into the Great War. Produced by the U.S. World War I Centennial Commission, the ceremony, In Sacrifice for Liberty and Peace: Centennial Commemoration of the U.S. Entry into World War I, will be held on April 6, 2017 at the Museum.

The commemorative ceremony is a multi-media production illustrating America’s step-by-step decision to enter the war. A creative team led by artistic director Ed Bilous has adapted historic images and music of the period into a 90-minute mixture of live performance and film to be broadcast on giant screens at the National World War I Museum and Memorial.

The ceremony will also include commemorative flyovers by U.S. aircraft and Patrouille de France, the precision aerobatic demonstration team of the French Air Force, as well as the U.S. First Infantry Division Band and Color Guard, Native American Color Guard, Army and Air Force legacy units that served during World War I, and special video presentations and musical performances from the World War l period.

The show features powerful musical moments under the direction of Michelle DiBucci, including the world premiere of two historic songs, a special appearance by members of the Kansas City Symphony and two U.S. military bands. Notable performers participating in the event include Kevin Costner, solo R&B recording artists Billy Cliff and Lisa Fischer, baritone John Brancy with pianist Peter Dugan, and Kansas City Lyric Opera featured artist Samantha Gossard.

YouTube livestream of the ceremony will be viewable starting at 10:00 CDT on April 6, 2017 (16:00, London, UK). For more information visit https://www.theworldwar.org/april6

You can also join the National World War I Museum and Memorial for a livestream of a pair of engaging discussions on the Centennial anniversary of American entry into World War I.

14:30 CDT (20:30 London, UK): Why the U.S. Entered WWI (and Should It Have Done So?)

U.S. World War I Centennial Commission Chairman Robert Dalessandro moderates a discussion with historian/professor Dr. John Morrow, historian/professor Dr. Michael Kazin and former journalist/professor Dr. John Hamilton.

15:40 CDT (21:40 London, UK): How do we Build Peace after a Great Conflict?

Journalist/novelist David Ignatius moderates a discussion with Middle East expert Emma Sky and journalist/author Evan Thomas.

WW1_logo_v3     NWWIM_2016_Logo_Red-01

Share this